Day 2

Day 2:  Cincinnati, Ohio to Beloit, Wisconsin

Distance traveled:  445 miles

Time:  7.25 hours

Song of the Day:  “American Girl” (Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers)

This post is not interesting, just informational.  Today’s goal was to get more than halfway to Minneapolis.  I left Cincinnati at 11:15, and I was advised to follow the route that avoids Chicago.  I stopped in Indianapolis at about 1:15.  Then, again, in Oglesby, Illinois.  Indiana and Illinois proved to be very boring drives.  I was so glad to arrive in Wisconsin.  I am sure you are wondering why I stopped in Beloit.  My brother suggested that I stop here because it is home of Beloit College where Mom and Dad’s good friends, Barb & Dick Lucier, went to college.  After I checked in at the Holiday Inn Express (in the middle of a free 2 drink happy hour – yes at the Holiday Inn Express), I decided to drive to campus and check out Barb & Dick’s old stomping grounds.  Located on the Rock River, the downtown was cute, but it was quiet this Wednesday night.

(Image courtesy of http://www.visitbeloit.com/the_riverfront)

I came back to the HIE, so I could start watching the finale of “So You Think You Can Dance” from last night.  I had to avoid all social media today fearing that someone would post who the winners were.  Then, I was on the phone a bit, trying to solidify my plans for this weekend in Minneapolis.  I am so excited to see Beth & Marc Mason and Lori Lindblad Snyder!  A more interesting post will appear tomorrow night.  I welcome phone calls!

1 thought on “Day 2

  1. I’m glad you stopped at our old stomping grounds…doesn’t David have a good memory? I love reading your blog…it is like hearing you talk. Love, Barb

Leave a comment